On Tuesday, March 7, 2023, characters on the Tarinax server will be merged onto Antonia Bayle.
In order to make the transition as smooth as possible, we've pulled together an FAQ that will help answer questions you may have about the merging process. If you have any additional questions about the merging process, please let us know on the forums! We'll keep the FAQ section below updated accordingly.
Q: What is a server merge?
A: During a server merge, all characters will move from one server to another. In this case, all characters from Tarinax will be moved to Antonia Bayle.
Q: Will there be free character transfers off Tarinax before the merge?
A: Right now, if you log in to your character, you will find a character transfer token that will allow you to pick the server to which you wish to transfer. You will be able to use this token anytime starting after scheduled maintenance on February 15, 2023, until the servers come down for the merge on March 7, 2023.
Q: What will the server be named after the merge?
A: The server will retain the name Antonia Bayle.
Q: How will we be able to retain names if others have the same name?
A: In the event of duplicate character names during a merge, priority will be given to the character who has logged in to the game within the past sixty (60) days. If multiple characters have logged in within the past sixty (60) days, then the character which was created first will retain their name. Other same-named characters will have a "Z" (or several) added to their names automatically until their name is unique. Each player that is auto-renamed this way will get a free rename potion so that they may change their name.
Q: If my character’s name is taken or modified, will I be able to pick a new name?
A: Yes, you can do this after the merger by using the /rename command at your convenience. Type /rename <new_first_name> while logged into your character.
Q: Will there be any elimination of characters altogether based on level, cash reserves, etc.?
A: No, there will be no elimination of characters.
Q: Should we clear our mailboxes out before the consolidation happens?
A: Mail will get transferred over to your new server.
Q: Should I take the things I have in the bank or shared bank out?
A: There is no need to take anything out of the bank or shared bank. All items will be transferred over completely. If you delete all characters on Tarinax before the merge, your shared bank will still appear on Antonia Bayle in the overflow items window.
Q: What happens to items that I own, but I’ve placed in my Guild Hall?
A: Players should pick up soulbound (NoTrade) items from shared housing (such as Guild Halls) BEFORE the merge. This will prevent losing ownership of placed items during this merge.
Q: Should I be emptying my guild hall so I don't lose the furniture I crafted and placed there?
A: No, all guilds and guild halls will be moved onto the same server. All housing will be moved as well.
Q: If our names change, how will the members of our guild know who we are? How will the guild still be together if everyone is renamed?
A: In the guild roster everyone will keep their notes, rank, and anything else tied to that character. If a character is renamed it will be automatically updated in the guild rosters. All characters that are auto-renamed will have the option to do a free name change. If the free name change is used it will automatically update the name in the guild roster as well.
Q: How will you handle guild names?
A: If two or more guilds have the same name at the time of the server merge, the oldest guild will keep the guild name, and we will append "Z" to other guilds with a conflicting name. If this happens to your guild, you will be offered a free guild name change.
If you have a free guild name change, to select a new guild name the leader from a guild can use the command /guild rename.
If there is no leader in your guild, /initiate_guild_leader_vote can be used by guild officers to help guilds choose a new leader.
Q: Will any guilds be deleted?
A: Guilds will not be deleted during server merges.
Housing and Player-Designed Dungeons
Q: Does housing stuff all have to be packed into the moving crate for each house? Will housing templates be saved? (How do you do that? I forgot!)
A: Nothing should be lost during the merge. It's always good to save your housing templates, however it should not be required. If you'd like to save your housing template, go to your house, open the house window, and hit save. It will prompt you for a template name. Enter a name, and then click 'Okay'.
Q: I have numerous dungeons that are used for storage for my decorating items. Will we need to move items from dungeons to a house prior to the merge?
A: No need to; they will all get moved to the new server.
Q: Will paid house rent transfer?
Q: Will depots transfer?
A: Yes, personal as well as guild depots will transfer.
Q: Will player written books and housing trophies be safe in your house, or should we move them to our bags/bank/house vault?
A: They will be safe in the houses.
Q: Will housing trophies still have our house info and date obtained on them, or will they now be blank?
A: They will still have your house info and date obtained.
Q: Are objects in our moving crates safe?
Q: What if we've used a house item expander? Will our expanded items be safe?
Q: Is it safe to assume that the files in our saved house layouts within the EQII folders will be preserved?
A: Yes, they will still be there. Just remember to not delete them off your hard drive.
Q: Do we need to empty house vaults?
If you have a question that we didn't answer, let us know on the EverQuest II Forums!